MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 2nd XI - Sat v Clacton 2nd X1 on Sat 04 Sep 2010 at 12.30 p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall won by 8 wickets

Match report Mildenhall 2nd X1 have staged a revival of late and on Saturday they were at home to take on bottom of the table Clacton 2nd X1.

Clacton batted first and had comfortably reached 19 when out of the blue Jahangir swept Rhys Desborough square only to see Cameron Ramsey dive left and hang on to a stunning catch. New batsman Fowler was bowled next over by Andy Youngs for a duck and things got worse for Clacton when without addition Desborough got a bit of extra bounce and Fitzpatrick (9) edged the ball to wicketkeeper Eddie Finnis. L. Kirk entered at four an immediately punished Desborough with a succession of boundaries. However he got too ambitious and top edged a ball off Desborough. Craig Warren ran back in a desperate attempt to catch the ball. Bizarrely Kirk was ball watching as Warren retrieved the ball, threw it back to Desborough who in turn threw down the wicket and Kirk (20) was run out. Asgar and Ali took Clacton past 50. Mildenhall had by then turned to spin through Jason Moore replacing Desborough.However the next wicket fell when Ben Tippett came on at the River End and Ashgar (13) hit high toward deep the deep only to find a steadfast Richard Thurston under a well taken catch. Moore not to be out done got the break through on the same score when Ali (21) went back to play the ball and was bowled. Clacton had slumped to 74 for 6.Ten runs were added before Moore deceived G.Kirk (9) who edged a second catch to Finnis. With just one run added Tippett bowled Pitts for 1 and then Beeston repeated Kirks prod forward and Finnis had his third catch and Moore his third wicket. Skipper Youngs returned to clean up the innings and bowled Comber with his fourth ball. Clacton was all out for 95 and wicketkeeper Finnis had played no small part in supporting his bowlers with a very tidy performance.

Mildenhall lost Alex Reynolds (8) early on when he fell to an excellent slip catch by Asghar off Fowler. However Jason Moore and Steve Grinling were in no mood to build slowly. The ball was dispatched to all sides. Grinling reached his first target when on 24 he completed 1000 runs for the season. He then went on to celebrate by hitting a 6 to reach his 50.The pair added 79. Moore (27) was bowled shortly before the target had been reached, it was left to Grinling (59*) to club another boundary and the job was done inside 17 overs.. The two teams made their final return to the pavilion at 4.15 p.m.

Clacton 2nd X1 Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
95 (0.0 overs)
D.Fitzpatrick ct  E.Finnis bwd R.Desborough 9
A.Jahangir ct  C.Ramsey bwd R.Desborough 7
M.Fowler b  A.Youngs 0
L.Kirk run out  (R.Desborough) 20
M.Ashgar ct  R.Thurston bwd B.Tippett 13
I.Ali b  J.Moore 21
G.Kirk ct  E.Finnis bwd J.Moore 9
B.Pitts ct  E.Finnis bwd J.Moore 1
M.Beeson b  B.Tippett 0
N.Hussain Not Out  9
M.Comber b  A.Youngs 0


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Rhys Desborough7.0126213.003.71
Andrew Youngs9.4130215.003.10
Jason Moore10.051535.001.50
Ben Tippett7.031829.002.57

Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 2 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Alex Reynolds ct  Asgar bwd Fowler 8
Jason Moore b  Hussain 27
Steven Grinling Not Out  59
Richard Thurston Not Out  0 1
Andrew Youngs  
Edward Finnis   3
Steve Ready  
Cameron Ramsey   1
Craig Warren  
Ben Tippett  
Rhys Desborough   1

Clacton 2nd X1 Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy