MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 2nd XI - Sat v Exning on Sat 16 May 2015 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall 2nd X1 won by 5 wickets

Match report On Saturday Mildenhall 2nd X1 entertained local rivals Exning at Wamil Way. Weather conditions were sunny but with a cool breeze blowing across the ground. Exning batted first and were soon in trouble. Ashley Clarke removed Simon Lawson (1) when he edged the ball to wicketkeeper Eddie Finnis. Then with just 6 on the board Gavin Jones (0) was out to Clark after Andy Youngs held onto a fine low catch in the slips. Simon Allen joined Tim Catley and they took the score to 31. Mildenhall introduce Peter Worthington and in his first over Allen (6) gave Ryan Clark a straight forward catch. Ben Readman (3) handed Ryan Clark a second catch this time off the frugal Martin Kingdon. Exning soon became 39 for 6 when Worthington bowled Dan Baigent for 1.Only Tim Catley showed any resolve and batted at ease in comparison with his team mates. Michael Griggs (2) offered a slip catch to Andy Squire off Kingdon. Adam Newbury hit a defiant boundary but then perished to another slip catch to Youngs off Ashley Clark. Finally Catley had some support from young Oakley Colby and was able to move to a half century as the pair added 28. Colby (3) eventually went to another slip catch this time it was into the hands of Squire off Jack Bowman. Catley tried to add more runs to the total and Mildenhall missed him when Finnis put down a high mistimed shot. Catley however was finally dismissed for a well-made 70 when he was caught at deep long off by Tom Heywood off Bowman. Phillip King (1) was last out when like all the other Exning batsmen apart from Catley he failed to make double figures. Exning were all out for 102 in the 43rd over. Opening bowler Ashley Clark took3 for 43 while Jack Bowman had the best figures of 3 for 12. Kingdon 2 for 16 and Worthington 2 for 12 weighed in after good back up from the home team fielders as they hung on to 9 catches.
Ball continued to dominate bat at the start of the Mildenhall innings and both home team openers were soon back in the pavilion as Mildenhall “old boy” Ian Starling dismissed Tom Heywood (9) via a wicketkeeper catch to Jones and then caught and bowled Clark for 6. Andy Squire and Kieren Davis were made to fight hard to put runs on the board, but then were let off the hook when first change bowler Griggs went for 22 in just 2 overs. He was quickly replaced by Baigent who was struck to the boundary by Squire but immediately got his revenge when he had Squire (33) caught by Newbury. Mildenhall then had another scare when Jordan Francis was bowled Lawson for a duck. Ash Clark joined Davis and the pair steadied the innings and reached 90 before Clark (20) was bowled by Baigent. Worthington (8*) joined Davis (23*) to see Mildenhall finally home by 5 wickets. Starling took 2 for 14 while Baigent got 2 for 27.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(32.3 overs)
Tom Heywood ct G Jones b I Starling 9 1
Ryan Clark ct & Bwld I Starling 6 2
Andrew Squire ct A Newbury b D Baigent 33 2
Kieren Davis Not Out  25
Jordan Francis b SD Lawson 0
Ashley Clark b D Baigent 20
Peter Worthington Not Out  8
Jack Bowman  
Andrew Youngs   3
Edward Finnis   1
Martin Kingdon  

Exning Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
I Starling9.041427.001.56
SD Lawson15.0336136.002.40
M Griggs2.002200.0011.00
D Baigent5.3027213.504.91
O Colby1.00200.002.00

Exning Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
102 (43.0 overs)
S D Lawson ct E Finnis b A Clark 1
G Jones ct A Youngs b A Clark 0
T Catley ct T Heywood b J Bowman 70
S Allen ct R Clark b P Worthington 5
B Readman ct R Clark b M Kingdon 3
D Baigent b P Worthington 1
M Griggs ct A Squire b M Kingdon 2
A Newbury ct A Youngs b A Clark 4
O Colby ct A Squire b J Bowman 3
P King ct A Youngs b J Bowman 1
I Starling` Not Out  0


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Martin Kingdon15.071628.001.07
Ashley Clark13.0147315.673.62
Peter Worthington6.021226.002.00
Jack Bowman7.021234.001.71
Andrew Youngs2.001200.006.00