MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 2nd XI - Sat v Ipswich on Sat 14 May 2016 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Lost Mildenhall 2nd X1 lost by 8 wickets

Match report Mildenhall 2nd X1 took on Ipswich at Wamil Way. Mildenhall were invited to bat first after Ipswich won the toss on a cold afternoon. Ipswich took full advantage of their decision as their opening bowler Da Smith and Jade Howe bowled with good line and length. Ryan Clark (7) tried to drive Smith but played it straight into the hands of Mark Phillips. Howe then bowled Adam Trett for 7 and Tom Heywood (5) struggled with conditions and was eventually caught by Phillips off Smith. Steve Graham and Andy Squire also found runs hard to come by as Howe bowled an impressive 9 overs for just 6 runs including 6 maidens. The Mildenhall pair stuck to their guns, eventually reaching 95, before Graham (36) offered a catch to Louis Perrin off Rob Southall. Keiren Davis (0) was soon out, caught behind by Kevin Smith off the returning Da Smith. Ash Clark (3) hardly got going before being bowled round his legs by Perrin for 3.Things continued to fall apart for the home team when Captain Andy Youngs was run out without scoring. Andy Squire (60) defiance came to an end when he failed to beat the leaping Phillips who hung on to his third catch. Ali Kingdon and Matt Heywood failed to trouble the scorer and were both bowled as Mildenhall crumbled to 126 all out.
Mildenhall flatted to deceive when Ash Clark bowled Jo Rusby first ball and then had Southall (2) caught off his bowling by Steve Hunt. It proved to be a false dawn as like their bowlers the Ipswich batsmen dominated proceedings from then on. Stuart Hammond reached 65 not out while Nick Johnson was unbeaten on 55 as the pair added 123 runs to secure an 8 wicket win.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets

(41.3 overs)
Ryan Clark ct M Phillips b D Smith 7
Tom Heywood ct M Phillips b D Smith 5
Adam Trett b J Howe 7
Steve Graham ct L Perrin b R Southall 36
Andrew Squire ct M Phillips b L Perrin 60
Kieren Davis ct K Smith b D Smith 0
Ashley Clark b L Perrin 3
Andrew Youngs Run out  0
Steven Hunt Not Out  1 1
Alastair Kingdon b D Smith 0
Matt Heywood b L Perrin 0

Ipswich Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
D Smith14.013749.252.64
J Howe11.0622122.002.00
R Southall7.0129129.004.14
L Perrin9.3132310.673.37

Ipswich Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 2 wickets
130 (31.5 overs)
J Rusby b A Clark 0
R Southall ct S Hunt b A Clark 2
S Hammond Not Out  65
N Johnson Not Out  55
L Perrin  
D Smith  
C Bell (C)  
J Elford  
K Smith (Wk)  
J Howe  
M Phillips  


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ashley Clark9.0234217.003.78
Steve Graham7.001700.002.43
Alastair Kingdon7.001900.002.71
Andrew Youngs3.001500.005.00
Matt Heywood3.001900.006.33
Tom Heywood2.001500.007.50
Adam Trett0.501000.0012.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :