Copford v MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 2nd XI - Sat on Sat 10 Jun 2017 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall 2nd X1 won by20 runs

Match report Cream always rises and there is no cream fuller or of better quality than Mildenhall Hall of Famer Andrew Squires. Mildenhall’s best ever batsman demonstrated yet again all of his quality in the 2XI away fixture against Copford. Mildenhall batted first against the home side and Squiz and Adam Trett were soon into their work. Unfortunately Trett was the first to go bowled Ahern for 23. Captain Steve Graham came to the crease but was unable to make the large impact that he would have liked. Graham was dismissed for 16. Tom Allen got a start but again was unable to go on as he was dismissed for 14. It was Eddie Finnis that provided some devastating hitting towards the end of the Mildenhall innings. Finnis was smashing it to all parts in a quick fire 37. It was Squiz though that will take all the plaudits from the Mildenhall innings. Squiz finished on 113 not out from the Mildenhall total of 232.
Copford made a decent fist of the run chase thanks to contributions from Sinclair (77), Ahern (42), Helmer (25) and Northover (25). If only Godley had got some runs and yours truly could have made some obscure reference to Godley and Creme…I’ll let that one settle for a second well the younger readers ask their Mum/Dads who Godley and Creme were. I will also avoid explaining how 10CC got their name. Anyway, moving on. Steve Graham and veteran Martin J. Taylor kept things tight early on. Graham bowled 9 overs 1 wicket for 38 while Taylor went for only 56 off his 15 overs. Tom Allen took 2 wickets from his 12 overs. Matt Heywood and Duncan Fraser were the other wicket takers with two each. Copford finished on 212 for 7 wickets from their 45 overs.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 4 wickets

(45.0 overs)
Andrew Squire Not Out  113
Adam Trett b P Ahern 23
Steve Graham ct D Addington b T Sinclair 16
Tom Allen ct G Northover b T Helmer 14
Edward Finnis ct A Godley b P Ahern 37 1 1
Richard Thurston Not Out  0
Lou Handy  
Reuben Handy  
Duncan Fraser  
Matt Heywood  
Martin Taylor   1

Copford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
T Helmer14.0244144.003.14
H Cmote5.002700.005.40
C Smith7.022800.004.00
P Ahern15.0194247.006.27
T Sinclair4.0019119.004.75

Copford Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 7 wickets
212 (45.0 overs)
S Samranayake ct E Finnis b T Allen 14
T Sinclair st E Finnis b M Heywood 77
A Godley b T Allen 5
P Ahern b M Heywood 42
T Helmer ct M Taylor b D Fraser 25
G Northover b D Fraser 25
W Merry b S Graham 4
D Addington Not Out  4
C Crouch Not Out  1
H Comote  
C Smith  


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Steve Graham9.0138138.004.22
Martin Taylor15.035600.003.73
Tom Allen12.0156228.004.67
Matt Heywood5.0037218.507.40
Duncan Fraser4.0020210.005.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :