MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 1st XI - Sat v Haverhill on Sat 13 Jul 2013 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Lost Mildenhall lost by 8 wickets

Match report
Mildenhall started the day well having made the decision to hold their annual Beer Festival on the hottest Saturday of the year so far. Unfortunately the first team’s decision making did not carry on in the same vein. Batting first in their home game against Haverhill, Mildenhall were hoping for revenge for a defeat in the two clubs fixture at Haverhill earlier in the season. Strategies were thrown out of the window when Adam Trett was bowled for 4 and Alex Reynolds was caught behind having also scored just 4.Erik Laubscher and Andy Squire set about a recovery but with the score on 35 Squire became the victim of some poor calling and was run out for 12. Teenager Jack Beaumont fresh from last weekends appearance for the Suffolk CCC joined Laubscher. They battled on to reach 77 for 3 at the half way point. Next over Laubscher was out caught behind by Blanchard off Poole for 43. Captain Steve Lankester went in at number 5 and as is his way hit 4 boundaries in quick succession. Lankester and Beaumont saw up the hundred with Beaumont playing his best innings for the 1st X1 this season. They added 56 runs before Lankester was deceived by Phillips and was bowled for 22. James Holmes was returning to the side and with Beaumont added 50 with Beaumont reaching his own half century, however having reached 183 they were both out in quick succession, Holmes for 37 and Beaumont for 56. This left two more young batsmen just 5 overs to accumulate runs. Ryan Clark and Tom Allen did their best scampering their way to a 46 run partnership enabling Mildenhall to close on 229. The home side had made a decent recovery but still had what appeared to be a below par total.

For Haverhill Adam Dellar and Amit Gupta soon picked up the pace of the pitch and they raced away against Warraich and Holmes. In less than half an hour they had raised the 50 in just 6 overs. Holmes looking ring rusty came in for some punishment bowling 4 overs for 49 runs. A change of bowling saw Gupta caught behind by Ryan Clark off Laubscher for 35. Mildenhall had one more success when Blanchard was caught off Laubscher for 14, but not before the 100 had been posted. Dellar was in imperious mood as he struck 24 boundaries including 8 sixes. Mildenhall rotated their bowlers but could produce no answers to Haverhill’s batting. Luke Young made 38 * as he and Dellar knocked off the remaining 127 runs with ease. Dellar remained undefeated on 141 in what had been a breath taking innings. For Mildenhall only Laubscher had any bowling figures of note taking 2 for 36 in Haverhill’s 8 wicket win.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1w 1b 4lb 
for 7 wickets

(50.0 overs)
Adam Trett b S Youngs 4 9 6 1 66.67
Alex Reynolds ct K Blanchard b J Woodley 4 24 12 1 33.33
Erik Laubscher ct K Blanchard b D Poole 43 88 77 9 55.84
Andrew Squire Run out  13 26 21 3 61.90
Jack Beaumont ct D Poole b A Gupta 56 117 83 10 67.47
Stephen Lankester b A Phillips 22 41 38 4 57.89
James Holmes ct S Youngs b D Pass 37 33 30 5 1 123.33
Ryan Clark Not Out  29 21 21 3 138.10 1
Tom Allen Not Out  16 16 13 1 123.08
Ahmad J Warraich  
Jack Bowman  

Haverhill Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Simon Youngs12.0435135.002.92
Joe Woodley6.0123123.003.83
Amit Gupta8.0134134.004.25
Anthony Phillips10.0140140.004.00
Dan Poole5.0030130.006.00
Adam Dellar2.001300.006.50
Luke Youngs2.001900.009.50
D Pass5.0030130.006.00

Haverhill Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
1w 2lb 
for 2 wickets
231 (33.3 overs)
Adam Dellar Not Out  141 120 89 16 8 158.43
Amit Gupta ct R Clark b E Laubscher 35 26 20 6 1 175.00
Kyle Blanchard ct  b E Laubscher 14 21 29 2 48.28
Luke Youngs Not Out  38 71 63 8 60.32
Sam Hartshorn  
Liam Savage  
Dan Poole  
Anthony Phillips  
Simon Youngs  
D Pass  
Joe Woodley  


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ahmad J Warraich7.023900.005.57
James Holmes4.004900.0012.25
Jack Beaumont5.004800.009.60
Erik Laubscher7.0136218.005.14
Tom Allen7.012900.004.14
Jack Bowman3.302800.008.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :