MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 1st XI - Sat v Worlington on Sat 12 Sep 2015 at 12.00 noon Match Sponsors The Sid Rutterford stand
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall 1st X1 won by 45 runs

Match report Mildenhall 1st X1 ended their league campaign with a home match at Wamil Way on Saturday. Worlington won the toss and invited Mildenhall to bat first on a pitch that looked to have a bit in it that would help the bowlers. Mildenhall’s Australian coach Steve Taylor (0) fell second over when the first ball he received from Graham Ford, he turned to square leg and a grateful Darren Haywood dived forward and took a catch. Captain Ben Shepperson joined Joe Reed and the pair added 46. Shepperson who had previously just cleared deepish mid-on, failed to do so a second time and was caught by Lewis Parker off Nathan Twiddy for 31. Four balls later and Twiddy struck again when Tom Allen got tangled with his bat and was trapped lbw for a duck. Joe Reed (25) was fourth out when a miss timed shot went aerial to Craig Woollard off Haywood. Reeds dismissal left him in second place in the all-time aggregate runs scored in a season for the club (1766 runs). Mildenhalls plight quickly got worse when Ryan Clark (0) was bowled by Steve Flack leaving the home side on 73 for 5. Jack Loveday and Adam Trett dug in against some frugal bowling, particularly by Flack. A poor call broke the partnership and left Loveday run out for 6. Trett now required a runner having sustained a hamstring injury while turning. Karl Holmes helped take the score passed 100 but then was beaten in the flight by Flack and was stumped by Richard Ford for 12. Jon Steel then recorded the fourth duck of the innings when he tamely turned the ball to Matt Peachy off Parker. With the bowling still dominating the bat, there developed a defiant partnership of 28 by Trett and Jon Allen. Allen (8) finally fell to a catch to Graham Ford off Haywood. In the last over Jack Bowman had stayed long enough to see the 150 posted before he was caught in the deep again by Graham Ford off Haywood. Mildenhall had been bowled out for 150 with Trett (46*) playing a match defining innings. For Worlington Darren Haywood starred with ball taking 3 for 31 while Steve Flack sent down 10 overs and got 2 for just 16 runs.

Jon Steel got Mildenhall off to a great start he got a ball to lift that Richard Ford (1) was unable to leave and the ball sailed into the hands of birthday boy Ryan Clark standing in the slips. He then dismissed Jimmy Watson (6) with another steeply climbing delivery that saw the batsman edge through to wicketkeeper Holmes. Graham Ford had made 12 before he also edged to the slip caldron where Tom Allen accepted the catch off the bowling of Taylor. Putting his disappointment with the bat behind him Taylor was now delivering one of his best bowling performances of the year. His next wicket saw Alfie Marston give a fine edge to Holmes behind the stumps. Matt Peachey had reached 7 before Taylor comprehensively bowled him and 4 runs later he took Parker out as another edge flew into the gloves of Holmes. Darren Haywood (1) was unable to stem the tide as Taylor shattered his stumps to record a five wicket haul. Worlington were in disarray on 68 for 7. All through opener Chris Baugh had remained resolute, however with the score on 90, a mix up in trying for a second run left Baugh stranded and he was run out for 38. Craig Woollard (13) was the ninth wicket to fall when he was trapped lbw to Reed. Then with no addition to the score Twiddy lofted an easy catch to Loveday to give Jack Bowman the last wicket of this seasons campaign. Worlington were all out for 105. Steve Taylor finished with 5 for 29. Mildenhall finished the season in third place.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
5nb 7w 5b 4lb 
for 10 wickets

(50.0 overs)
Joe Reed ct C Woollard b D Haywood 25 75 58 4 43.10
Steve Taylor ct D Haywood b G Ford 0 4 1 0
Ben Shepperson ct L Parker b N Twiddy 31 39 42 3 73.81 1
Tom Allen lbw N Twiddy 0 2 1 0 1
Adam Trett Not Out  46 136 112 2 41.07
Ryan Clark b S Flack 0 6 6 0 1
Jack Loveday run out  (C Baugh) 6 24 15 1 40.0 1
Karl Holmes st R Ford b S Flack 12 30 23 2 52.17 3
Jonathon Steel ct M Peachey b L Parker 0 4 7 0
Jon Allen ct G Ford b D Haywood 8 31 34 23.53
Jack Bowman ct G Ford b D Haywood 1 10 5 20.0

Worlington Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
N Twiddy10.0232216.003.20
G Ford10.0134134.003.40
D Haywood10.0231310.333.10
S Flack10.051628.001.60
Craig Woollard4.001400.003.50
L Parker3.00919.003.00
J Watson3.01500.001.67

Worlington Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
11nb 6w 1b  
for 10 wickets
105 (39.1 overs)
C Baugh run out  (J Bowman) 38 143 98 5 38.78
R Ford ct R Clark b J Steel 1 12 3 33.33
J Watson ct K Holmes b J Steel 6 9 6 1 100
G Ford ct T Allen b S Taylor 12 39 30 1 40.0
A Marston ct K Holmes b S Taylor 1 10 8 12.50
M Peachey b S Taylor 7 27 20 35.00
L Parker ct K Holmes b S Taylor 1 14 11 9.09
D Haywood b S Taylor 1 6 4 25.00
Craig Woollard lbw J Reed 13 37 54 24.07
N Twiddy ct J Loveday b J Bowman 7 19 13 53.85
S Flack Not Out  0 2


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jonathon Steel6.0121210.503.50
Tom Allen7.022000.002.86
Steve Taylor10.022955.802.90
Jon Allen3.00600.002.00
Ben Shepperson8.011800.002.25
Joe Reed4.01717.001.75
Jack Bowman1.10313.002.57

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    john child