MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 1st XI - Sat v Worlington on Sat 30 Jul 2016 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall won by 158 runs

Match report

At Wamil Way on Saturday Mildenhall’s 1st X1 captain Ben Shepperson won the toss and told Worlington that Mildenhall would bat first. Mildenhall were buoyed up by the return of opener Joe Reed and he and Steve Taylor set off at an electric speed racing past 50 in the seventh over. With opening bowlers Jimmy Watson and Nathan Twiddy both going for 8 an over, Worlington made their first bowling change. Ben Hyde had an immediate success when Taylor (25) edged a sharp catch through to wicketkeeper Richard Ford. With the score on 86 Hyde struck again when Reed (47) uncharacteristically pushed at a delivery outside his off stump and the ball took the edge of his bat and Jimmy Watson held on to the chance in the slips. With Peter Worthington and Ben Shepperson now at the crease consolidation became the objective. Worlington switched their attack and took the pace off the ball with some success. The Mildenhall pair posted a well-crafted partnership of 85 before Worthington, who had made 64, attempted to hit Craig Woollard over the top and was caught in the deep by Chris Baugh. Luke Youngs joined Shepperson and they saw up the 200 in the 37th over. Youngs was on 19 when he was unluckily run out when bowler Darren Hayward got his fingers on a straight drive by Shepperson. Woollard then had more success when Shepperson (62) fell to the same shot that dismissed Worthington and Baugh again made the catch. Matt Allen failed to trouble the scorers when Woollard trapped him lbw and Woollard soon had his fourth success when Kyle Morrison (1) was well caught in the deep by Hyde. Mildenhall’s tail thwarted any Worlington hopes of restricting the total as they continue to add late runs. Ashley Clark stood out hitting 28 including a straight six, off just 14 balls. Mildenhall finally posted a very challenging 279 for 9. Craig Woollard finished top bowler with 4 for 40 while Ben Hyde got 2 for 40.
Straight after tea the Mildenhall X1 joined the Sid Rutterford stand group for a photo call and to say thanks for their sponsorship of the match. Opening bowler Kyle Morrison missed this as he was instructed to go through his warm up by cricket chairman Nick Allen. This proved to be an excellent move as Morrison with only his second delivery claimed the wicket of in form New Zealander Ben Hyde for nought. Hyde got a feint edge that a grateful wicketkeeper Luke Youngs hung on to. At the other end Tom Allen returned to opening bowling after several matches bowling further down the pecking order. He soon made an impression. Richard Ford (6) drove on the up and was caught at mid-on by Worthington. Jimmy Watson and Chris Baugh took the score to 50 before Baugh (13) edged Allen and Taylor in the slips took a good catch. Allen then struck again when he bowled Graham Ford for 1. Worlington could find no escape and Allen rounded off a fine spell when he claimed his fourth wicket trapping Colin Thompson lbw for a duck. Worlington appeared to have no way back on 56 for 5. Matt Peachey made 5 before he edged Reed to Taylor at slip. Wickets kept falling. Haywood (6) tried to hit his way out of trouble but was caught in the deep by Worthington off Jack Bowman. Mildenhall’s fielding had been excellent and it was capped off with Taylor taking a low slip catch to dismiss Twiddy for 2. The crowd then saw the catch of the day when Ben Shepperson “a la” Ben Stokes went to his right and caught Woollard (1) off Morrison. Jack Bowman took his 3rd wicket and wrapped things up when he deceive Steve Flack (4), who was adjudged lbw. Worlington were dismissed for 121.Jimmy Watson was left stranded on 69 and only one other Worlington batsman had reached double figures. Tom Allen ended with 4 for 33, Jack Bowman took 3 for 13 and Kyle Morrison got 2 for 33. Having seen off their neighbours Mildenhall will have to turn their attention to a visit to title challengers Wivenhoe next Saturday.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 4w 3lb 
for 9 wickets

(50.0 overs)
Joe Reed ct J Watson b B Hyde 47 48 31 8 1 151.61
Steve Taylor ct R Ford b B Hyde 25 39 27 3 1 92.59 3
Peter Worthington ct C Baugh b C Woollard 64 82 71 7 1 90.14 2
Ben Shepperson ct C Baugh b C Woollard 62 107 102 6 60.78 1
Luke Youngs run out  (D Haywood) 19 23 18 2 105.56 1
Kyle Morrison ct B Hyde b C Woollard 6 13 8 75.00
Matt Allen lbw C Woollard 0 1 1 0
Adam Trett ct B Hyde b N Twiddy 10 22 20 50.0
Tom Allen run out  (G Ford) 6 12 9 66.67
Ashley Clark Not Out  28 13 14 2 1 200
Jack Bowman Not Out  3 5 2 150.0

Worlington Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
J Watson4.003400.008.50
N Twiddy6.0050150.008.33
B Hyde10.0140220.004.00
S Flack10.004300.004.30
Craig Woollard10.0040410.004.00
D Hayward10.006900.006.90

Worlington Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
7w 2b 5lb 
for 10 wickets
121 (31.5 overs)
B Hyde ct L Youngs b K Morrison 0 1 1 0
R Ford ct P Worthington b T Allen 6 25 11 1 54.55
J Watson Not Out  69 116 92 8 75.00
C Baugh ct S Taylor b T Allen 13 20 19 2 68.42
G Ford b T Allen 1 3 4 25.00
C Thompson lbw T Allen 0 3 1 0
M Peachey ct S Taylor b J Reed 5 17 20 25.00
D Hayward ct P Worthington b J Bowman 6 10 16 1 37.50
N Twiddy ct S Taylor b J Bowman 2 13 12 16.67
Craig Woollard ct B Shepperson b K Morrison 1 15 9 11.11
S Flack lbw J Bowman 4 5 6 1 66.67


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Kyle Morrison6.0033216.505.50
Tom Allen10.013348.253.30
Joe Reed10.0035135.003.50
Jack Bowman5.511334.332.23

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    John Child