Witham v MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB 1st XI - Sat on Sat 27 Aug 2016 at 1.00p.m.
MILDENHALL CRICKET CLUB Won Mildenhall won by 8 wickets

Match report Mildenhall 1st X1 travelled to Witham to play the team that last Saturday had beaten Mildenhall’s nearest rivals Wivenhoe. Witham won the toss on a blustery day and decided they would bat first. Witham Captain Jake Wakelin and Jimmy Suett immediately set out their stall attacking the ball hard. They raced to 41, however in the 7th over Suett (15) mistimed a hook off Kyle Morrison resulting in the ball going straight up and back down again into the safe hands of wicketkeeper Luke Youngs. Adie Chad joined Wakelin and they had added a further 50 by the 20th over with Wakelin completing his half century. Witham had reached 129 when Wakelin pulled straight to Ben Shepperson at mid-wicket and the opener was out for a well-made 74. Three runs later Kaan Hawes was bowled by Joe Reed. Chad continued on in good form and reached his half century in the 39th over and getting Witham, with the help of Leroy Facey, passed 150. Chad had reached 53 when he lost patience and tried to pull Hamzah Ikram, only to see the ball go straight to Reed at deep backward point. Mildenhall had by now brought the run rate down with some tight bowling backed up by some excellent fielding with the senior player in the side Peter Worthington leading the way. Facey (36) fell when he hit Steve Taylor high out to deep mid-wicket and Ikram took the catch. Morrison then picked up a third bowling point for the visitors when he bowled Carl Bragg for 9. Richard Green and Jack Sambrook added 31 in the last three and a half over to get Witham to a final score of 225 for 6. For Mildenhall Ikram took 2 for 37 while Morrison finished with 2 for 44

After tea Witham started badly when Wakelin in the slips dropped a straight forward catch off Reed in the 3rd over. Reed (40) made the most of the missed opportunity as he cracked 7 fours and a 6 before he was given out to a leg side catch to Hawes behind the stumps with the score on 66. Luke Youngs joined Taylor and the pair put on a master class of quality batting. Witham reverted to taking the pace off the ball and softening the ball with every throw in. Taylor moved to 50 in the 25th over and Youngs competed his half century in the 36th over. Witham were left reeling as the pair added 131 before Youngs departed for 61, caught by Shaun Bragg off Sambrook. Taylor continued on majestically, seeing Mildenhall passed 200 with the help of Ben Shepperson. Taylor completed one of his finest inning, firstly hitting a 6 to get to his hundred (the third time he has done this this season) and then pulling Ben McKendry round the corner for 6 to win the match. Taylor remained unbeaten on 112. Mildenhall had completed a comprehensive win by 8 wickets. Mildenhall now require 13 points from their remaining two games to become Champions. Next Saturday they are at home to Hadleigh who are themselves battling against relegation.

Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
5w 1b 2lb 
for 2 wickets

(44.3 overs)
Joe Reed ct K Hawes b C Bragg 40 38 40 7 1 100 1
Steve Taylor Not Out  112 142 105 8 5 106.67
Luke Youngs ct S Bragg b J Sambrook 61 88 102 8 59.80 1
Ben Shepperson Not Out  8 14 18 1 44.44 1
Peter Worthington  
Kyle Morrison  
Matt Allen  
Hamzah Ikram   1
Tom Allen  
Ashley Clark  
Jack Bowman  

Witham Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
M McKendry6.304600.007.08
S Bragg2.001800.009.00
J Sambrook10.0041141.004.10
J Wakelin10.014900.004.90
C Bragg10.0030130.003.00
A Chad3.001700.005.67
L Facey3.002000.006.67

Witham Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
3w 4b 1lb 
for 6 wickets
225 (50.0 overs)
J Wakelin ct B Shepperson b H Ikram 74 109 97 6 1 76.29
J Suett ct L Youngs b K Morrison 15 27 22 2 68.18
A Chad ct J Reed b H Ikram 53 113 84 5 63.10
K Hawes b J Reed 2 7 14 14.29
L Facey ct H Ikram b S Taylor 36 48 41 4 87.80
C Bragg b K Morrison 9 28 19 1 47.37
R Green Not Out  24 18 15 1 1 160.0
J Sambrook Not Out  4 14 8 50.0
P Austin  
M McKendry  
S Bragg  


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Kyle Morrison9.0044222.004.89
Ashley Clark3.002500.008.33
Ben Shepperson8.003300.004.13
Steve Taylor10.0047147.004.70
Hamzah Ikram10.0037218.503.70
Joe Reed10.0134134.003.40